Looking forward

Today was the last day of my 2016-2017 school year – and I am already looking ahead to next year.  Why? Well, I have quite a challenge ahead of me – but one I am ready to take on!  Next year I will be once again teaching split classes, but in a way I never have before. I have had a split class every year I have taught, my most advanced classes have always been combined. This hasn’t ever come as a surprise to me and I have developed a system to cycle through two (or three) years of curriculum to keep the course interesting and exciting for students.  However, next year, my splits will be new to me. I’ll be teaching levels 1 and 2 combined, and levels 3,4 and 5 combined.  This will be difficult, but I am determined to make this a successful and positive experience for all of my students.  And being the type-a teaching personality I am, I have already started planning.  I want to do this really well and to me, that means I need to start thinking about it now.

I plan* to write about this experience because I want others who find themselves in this situation to have a resource of someone who has done it.  I have not found a single blog out there from someone who has taught multi-leveled splits before and I really wish I could! I wish I could read about someone’s experience about what went well, what didn’t, and what made this experience smoother. (On that note, if you know of someone who I could chat with, please let me know!) The weekly twitter conversation #langchat has definitely given me some great ideas and I’m thankful I had their brains to pick. So hopefully, if anyone language teachers out there in the future find themselves with new splits looking for ideas, they’ll find my blog!

That’s my update for now, happy summer and please share ideas if you have them!

*I say plan because I fully expect this to be a time-consuming process and writing may slip my mind… I’ll write when I can, and want to share content also!

One thought on “Looking forward

  1. Pingback: Blended Levels 1/2 Update – The Language of Educational Technology

Leave a Reply

