Endless, fun vocabulary practice with Quizlet Live

As a language teacher, I am always looking for new ways to help my students practice vocabulary. And if  that practice method doesn’t elicit groans and sighs from my students, then that tool receives an A+ from Frau Riedy. Quizlet has done just that with their new feature, quizlet live.

I have loved the website quizlet for years – I wish that a tool like this had existed when I was in high school! (now that I think of it, I wish a lot of today’s technology had existed when I was in high school…) And now quizlet is even better with their new ‘game’ type feature.  All students need to participate is a device – any device. All you as the teacher need is a quizlet vocab set. (At this time, you also need a teacher’s membership, but I feel that it is worth the small cost). **UPDATE! : Quizlet Live can actually be used by anyone who signs up as a teacher, even if they aren’t a paying member. **

After you open up your vocab set, click on ‘live’ to create the game, and students join using a code.

Screen Shot 2016-07-07 at 2.24.47 PM

Students are then placed into teams,

Screen Shot 2016-07-07 at 2.28.28 PM.png

And then the game begins.  Each team has a vocab word from the set they are trying to define.  Each student is sent a list of some (but not all) of the terms from the vocab set. Only one student in the team has the correct meaning/match.  Students must work together to select the correct meaning/match.

Screen Shot 2016-07-07 at 2.31.43 PM.png

Competitive students will especially love this game because the class sees a live stream of each team’s progress on your projector screen.  They race to answer all questions correctly. If they answer incorrectly, the team gets sent back to start.

Screen Shot 2016-07-07 at 2.34.27 PM.png

Let’s break it down — reasons why I love quizlet live:

  1. Students love it. They request it, and then never want to stop playing (aka learning).
  2. It makes my life easier. I can use sets I have already created, or sets others have created and shared, and create countless practice activities. Which means I can spend more time interacting with my students.
  3. Students have to collaborate with others to succeed, but they also need to know the vocab on their own. No mooching off of other team members here.
  4. It works for any content area. Do your students have vocab lists? Dates of important events? Anything to memorize? Then you can use (and benefit from) quizlet live.

Find me on quizlet – my username is fraumdeutsch1. Organizing my sets is on my summer to-do list, and I will be adding more!

 

References:

Here is the full video demo from the quizlet website: https://vimeo.com/161809345

All pictures taken from the quizlet video demo linked above.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

